Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

New Version of the Rule Book 5.40

Changes from 5.21 to 5.40

(blue: add on            struck through: replaced)

 

 

Page 4: Acknowledgement

And I would also like to thank Rodrigo Royo, who came up with the idea for the solo scenarios.


Page 9: 3.3.4. Turn out of the Wind: Bear Away

Note: Turning doesn’t cost any Movement Points.


Page 9: 3.3.5. Move Ship Sideward: Leeway

Note: The ship may not move backward.


Page 9: 3.3.6. Move Ship Sideward: Windward

Windward moves a ship sideward into another hex, but relatively closer to the wind than before.

...

Note: Pushing a ship sideward directly toward the wind is NOT possible. Moving backward isn’t possible either.


Page 10: 3.6. The Line-Formation

...Note:  The rule stating that a following ship must be activated and moved directly after the leading ship means that only one ship can follow. Branches or V-formations are not supported by this rule.

 


Page 11: 4.1. Determine Squadron's Strength

...The result should be noted on the Time Sheet of each Squadron for the current Game Turn.


Page 11: 4.2. Play Admiral's Order Cards
... It keeps the secret which squadron is directly commanded by the admiral, but does not provide the benefits of an Admiral's Order Card.
All cards must be played hidden and simultaneously. Once played, they are all turned over.

...It keeps the secret which squadron does not benefit from an Admiral’s Order Card.
All cards must be played hidden and simultaneously. Once played, they are all turned over.
The Card-Marker should remain to indicate to which squadron each card belongs.


Page 11: 4.3. Draw Initiative Markers

One of the two drawn markers must finally be selected as Initiative Marker.
One of the two drawn Initiative Markers must finally be selected.


Page 13: Captain-Order: Full Sails

...If a ship loses its last mast, as a result of using full sails, it must return to its starting point and perform the Captain-Order At the Ready  instead.
...If a ship loses a mast, as a result of using full sails, it must return to its starting point and perform the Captain-Order At the Ready  instead.


Page 13: Table of Captain's Orders

(*6  In Line AO: Cost for ship 1-4: 1CP.  Cost for ship 5-: only ½CP


Page 14: 4.4.2. Draw Manoeuvre Cards (MCs)

...and are required to perform manœuvres based on the Admiral’s Order and the given Captain-Orders, as well as to fire broadsides.


Page 15: 4.6.5. Draw Manoeuvre Cards (MCs)

Determine the number of Manœuvre Cards for each ship, note them on the Time Sheet and draw from stack.


Page 16: 4.7.3. Test For Capitulation

If the ship is a Frigate it must discard all its remaining Manœuvre Cards.


!! Important New Rule !!
 Page 17; 4.7.5. Check for end of game

...In case of a tie in Victory Points, the French always win....


 Page 17; 4.7.5. Check for end of game

 

Remark: The pure number of gained Victory Points only give an idea of who “wins” the game, they should rather be seen as a motivator to drive the rule system. Whether a battle was recognized as a victory in the home countries and how it would have been evaluated from a historical point of view is a different story. Within the game the "winner" is determined by scenario specific victory conditions, but nobody can really say if those conditions would have been accepted by the nations at that time.


Page 19: 5.1.7. Fire into a Cluster

First there must be a clear Line of Sight from the firing ship to the target. The aimed target must not be hidden by another ship within the cluster. Otherwise to fire the broadside is not allowed.

Before After the broadside was fired as described in chapter 5.1.4 Fire a Broadside, two dice (2D6) must be rolled.

!! Important Change !!

If the result is greater than or equal 6 treat the broadside as if the Rare Event “Friendly Fire” happened, following the same procedure as described above.


Page 20: 5.2.4. Anchor

This is only possible at the end of its activation, after all Movement Points have been used and requires to discard a Special Manœuvre.


Page 21: Restrictions using Full Sails

Note: If firing a broadside under Full Sails, only one die is used. All bonuses on broadsides are ignored.


Page 21: 5.4. Strike ship's colours by choice

If the ship is a Frigate it must discard all its remaining Manœuvre Cards.

...

 A ship that struck its colours can be captured and taken as Prize by the enemy. It can also be regained by a vessel of its own nation. See 5.2.5 Recover a Ship that struck its Colours.


Page 22: 6.1.2. Close Manoeuvre within the same Hex, or grappled

 This is typically the case if a Close Action Phase from the previous game turn was not resolved or ships collided caused by drifting or the ships had not been able to move out of the hex.


 Page 22: Select Start Position Card

Note: To free previously grappled or collided ships, the Close Action Card Cut Free must be played, or the enemy ship must be successfully boarded in the following Close Action Phase.

 Note: To free previously grappled or collided ships in the following Close Action Phase, the Close Action Card Cut Free must be played, or one of the both ships must be successfully boarded.


 Page 24: Rules for the Close Manoeuvre Phase
  • · The Close Manœuvre Phase ends if the last played Close Manœuvre Card does not show a Ship’s Wheel in the upper right corner. The description of this last card must be followed.

 

  • · If the active player cannot play another Close Manœuvre Card, matching the colour of the previously played card, he MUST finalize the Close Manœuvre Phase by playing the appropriate Final Position Card and follow its text.

Page 26: Mêlée Fight Man to Man

If Boarding Crew has at least one team left when it is executed, it must fight man-to-man against the opponent’s active crew on the opponent’s deck.


Page 27: Boarding Crew

If two Boarding Crews fight each other, they fight simultaneously on both decks. Count down the casualties, one by one, until one or both crews are disabled.


!! New Rule !!
Page 27: Nelson's Patent Bridge for Boarding 1st -Rates

 

If, after a successful boarding attempt, there is another enemy ship within the same hex as the just captured prize, or the prize is collided with another ship, the successor can decide to start a further Close Action immediately, using the prize as a “bridge” to reach the other ship. As the attacker, he is the Active Player for this action. Both parties draw Close Action Cards according to the rules, but no Close Manœuvre Cards are drawn. The number of cards for the Active Player is determined based on the Ship Condition of the original ship (not the “bridge”). Any crew casualties of the upcoming fight will also be removed from that ship. The fight starts directly in the Close Action Phase, with multiple turns and grappling allowed or with one turn, if the attacked ship is collided with the “bridge” (see 6.5). Broadsides, Carronades and Grapeshots are not allowed. If the attacked ship is successfully boarded it also becomes a prize. But if the defender can successfully send out his boarding crew, the first prize (the “bridge”) is gained back. In any case the Close Action ends after this second attack.



Page 28 -> Page 29: Wrecks

 A wooden ship does not simply disappear if it is wrecked. A ship becomes a wreck, if it has lost all its Ship Condition Points.

 


!! Rule Extension !!
Page 30: Rule Extension: In Irons

 

If a ship is pointing directly into the wind, at the end of the Game Turn, it is said to be “in irons”. The ability to steer the ship will be lost.

 

This is simulated by the opposing player choosing to which side the ship turns, when testing for drifting.

 

See 4.7.2 Test for Drifting for details.

 

To tighten this rule, a ship that is still in irons at the beginning of its activation, loses 2 of its Movement Points for that activation. This simulates the fact that the ship needs to regain speed after having almost stopped.

 

However it is a rule extension, which requires both players to agreement, at the beginning of the game.



!! New Rule for special
scenarios only !!
 Page 30: Coastal batteries

 

Rule extension for Coastal batteries:

 

A coastal battery automatically fires at the end of each game turn, as the first step within the Cleanup Phase.

 

Each battery originally fires with 3 dice at the enemy ships.

 

Hint: To indicate the power of the battery, place 3 dice beside it on the game board.

 

Each battery can fire multiple times, once at each 60° fire arc (I., II., III. and IV.). Ships located so that they are within two neighbouring, overlapping fire arcs, can be hit twice. (Purple line in the diagram.)

 

 


Within each fire arc one enemy ship must be selected by the owner of the battery as target.

 

The artillery strength of a coastal battery equals a Ship Condition (SC) of 13.

 

Determine the Fire Power (FP), based on the distance and the SC of 13 using the Fire Power Table. The range of the batteries is enhanced: For a distance between 10 and 15 the Fire Power (FP) is one.

 

Roll as many dice as available for the battery (originally 3 dice) and take the sum of the values.

 

Lookup the result in both (“Rigging” AND “Ship”) Hit Tables, based on the Fire Power (FP) and the dice value.

 

 

 

All damage from both tables count. If a Rare Event (‘#’) is part of the result, roll another two dice (2D6). Due to the two Hit Tables even two Rare Events are possible.

 

Adaptation of the Rare Event Table for a firing coastal battery:

 

  • Number 3: Bad luck: A gun explodes at the battery: Remove one die from the Battery
  • Number 7: Chosen by the opponent, one friendly ship becomes an additional target, if it’s in the fire arc. Determine the Fire Power based on the distance and the SC of 13. Roll only one die (1D6) to determine the damage. Use only the Hit Table that originally caused the Rare Event.
  • Number 12: A fire breaks out at the battery. See special rules for fire at the battery, below.

 

Note: When the battery is damaged, it loses one die and must fire with the remaining dice from now on. If all three dice are gone, the battery is destroyed.


Rule extension: Ships firing at coastal batteries

 

If somebody fires at a cost battery he MUST use the “Rigging” Hit Table.

 

However, only “Ship” hits (“S”) count as damage. If “Ship” was hit, the targeted battery must remove one of its dice. With two “Ship” hits (“2S”) two dice must be removed, and so on.

 

If all dice are removed, the battery if destroyed.

 

If a Rare Event (“#”) is part of the result, roll another two dice (2D6).

 

Adaptation of the Rare Event Table if firing at a coastal battery:

 

  • Number 2: ignore
  • Number 4: A fire breaks out at the battery.
  • Number 5: remove two dice from the battery
  • Number 7: remove one die from the battery
  • Number 8-9: ignore
  • Number 10-11: A fire breaks out at the battery

 

(everything else stays as described at the Rare Event Table)

 

 

Rule Extension: Fire at a coastal battery

 

If there is a fire at a coastal battery, in the Cleanup Phase it must be checked whether this fire causes further damage.

 

Two dice (2D6) are rolled and the result is modified by the power of the battery (1-3) as indicated by the number of dice the battery still has.

 

The result can be checked in the “Check for Fire” Table.

 

Any rigging results are ignored. If there is a Ship Damage (“S”) one die of the battery must be removed.

 

If the battery explodes, probably by the fire reaching the powder magazine, it is destroyed and loses all its dice at once.